What's New?


What's New?

Europe Travel

List of EU Countries (2024)

  • March 14, 2024
  • 4 min read
List of EU Countries (2024)

As of the publication date of this article, the European Union (EU) consists of 27 member countries. Here is a list of all the EU countries:


Known for its rich cultural heritage, Austria is famous for its historic cities, alpine landscapes, and contributions to classical music.


Belgium offers a mix of languages and cultures, renowned for its medieval towns, Renaissance architecture, and as the headquarters of the EU and NATO.


This country boasts a diverse terrain, including the Black Sea coastline, mountainous interior, and rivers, alongside a rich history dating back to ancient civilizations.


Famous for its stunning coastline on the Adriatic Sea, Croatia is dotted with beautiful islands, historic cities, and a rich maritime heritage.


A Mediterranean island blending sandy beaches, ancient archaeological sites, and a unique mix of Greek and Turkish cultures.

Czech Republic:

Known for its ornate castles, native beers, and historical regions of Bohemia and Moravia. The capital, Prague, is termed the “City of a Hundred Spires.”


A Scandinavian country comprising the Jutland Peninsula and numerous islands, known for its Viking history, modernist design, and sustainable living.


Featuring digital innovation alongside medieval architecture, Estonia is known for its tech-friendly approach and the historic beauty of Tallinn.


Known for its vast forests, thousands of lakes, and the Northern Lights, Finland is celebrated for its education system and outdoor lifestyle.


A country that symbolizes art, philosophy, and fashion, France is famous for its wine, sophisticated cuisine, iconic landmarks like the Eiffel Tower, and rich history.


Europe’s largest economy, known for its engineering excellence, historic regions, the Black Forest, and Oktoberfest.


The cradle of Western civilization, Greece is famous for its ancient ruins, the islands of the Aegean Sea, and significant historical influence.


With a rich history, Hungary is known for its capital Budapest, thermal spas, and contributions to European music and literature.


Known as the Emerald Isle for its lush landscape, Ireland boasts a vibrant culture, Celtic history, and literary greats.


Renowned for its monumental history, art, architecture, and cuisine, Italy is home to the Roman Empire’s ruins, the Vatican, and the Renaissance.


A country with a rich cultural heritage, known for its woodlands, Baltic Sea coastline, and the historic Riga Art Nouveau.


Famous for its medieval architecture, especially in the capital Vilnius, and a deep historical connection to European medieval history.


A small country known for its affluent status, fortified medieval old town, and as a key EU financial and judicial center.


An island nation in the Mediterranean known for historic sites related to a succession of rulers including Romans, Moors, and Knights of Saint John.


Known for its flat landscape, tulip fields, windmills, cycling routes, and liberal policies, with Amsterdam being a center of arts and trade.


With a history marked by resilience, Poland offers rich cultural experiences, medieval architecture, and the natural beauty of the Tatra Mountains.


Known for its maritime history, port wine, beautiful coastline and beaches, and the music genre of Fado.


Home to the Carpathian Mountains, medieval fortresses, and the region of Transylvania, it has a rich cultural and natural landscape.


Known for its natural landscapes, medieval castles, and the High Tatras mountains, it’s rich in history and outdoor activities.


A country known for its mountains, ski resorts, and lakes, Slovenia blends natural beauty with a growing culinary scene.


Famous for its diverse cultures, languages, historical regions, Flamenco music and dance, and cuisine, including tapas.


Known for its contributions to design, pop music (ABBA), progressive social values, and the natural beauty of the Northern Lights and vast forests.

All the countries above have chosen to join the EU, a political and economic union that allows for free movement of people, goods, services, and capital within its internal single market. Each EU country offers a unique blend of history, culture, and natural beauty, contributing to the rich tapestry of Europe.

NOTE: As of 2024, it should be stated that not all EU countries are part of the Schengen Area. For example Ireland and Cyprus are members of the EU but not the Schengen Zone.

About Author


GreetingsfromAbroad.com is a travel blog founded by keen traveler, writer and experienced digital nomad, Kojo Enoch. Currently Kojo lives on the beautiful, sunny island of Malta. This website is run by a solid team of expert digital nomads,  avid travelers, photographers and writers from all over the world.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *