What's New?


What's New?

Europe Travel

Which Countries Can I Visit With a Schengen Visa?

  • March 14, 2024
  • 3 min read
Which Countries Can I Visit With a Schengen Visa?

A Schengen visa is your golden ticket to exploring the rich tapestry of cultures, landscapes, and historical landmarks that Europe has to offer. This unique visa simplifies the process of traveling across multiple European countries, making it an indispensable tool for tourists and travelers.

With one Schengen visa, you’re granted the freedom to cross borders within the zone without the hassle of multiple visa applications. Here’s a deeper dive into the countries you can visit and the endless possibilities that await within the Schengen zone.

The Schengen Zone: A Gateway to Europe

The Schengen Area, named after the 1985 Schengen Agreement, unites 27 European countries in a common mission to allow free and unrestricted movement across their borders. The countries that participate in this agreement are:

  • Western Europe’s Highlights: Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Luxembourg, and the Netherlands offer a blend of medieval charm, modern art, and bustling city life.
  • Scandinavian Serenity: Denmark, Finland, Sweden, and Norway (though not an EU member, it’s part of the Schengen zone) are renowned for their breathtaking natural landscapes, design, and quality of life.
  • Mediterranean Marvels: Greece, Italy, Spain, and Malta promise sun-soaked beaches, ancient ruins, and culinary delights that echo the richness of their cultures.
  • Central European Gems: The Czech Republic (Czechia), Poland, Hungary, Slovakia, and Slovenia showcase the heart of Europe’s cultural heritage, with castles, historic towns, and vibrant traditions.
  • Baltic Beauties: Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania offer a unique blend of Baltic culture, history, and stunning natural landscapes.
  • Alpine Adventures: Switzerland and Liechtenstein, nestled in the Alps, provide breathtaking scenery and opportunities for outdoor sports year-round.
  • The Newest Member: Croatia, the latest addition to the Schengen zone, brings the allure of the Adriatic coast, with its pristine beaches and historic cities like Dubrovnik and Split.

All in all, these are currently the 27 countries that are part of the Schengen zone:

  1. Austria
  2. Belgium
  3. Bulgaria (joining 31st March, 2024)
  4. Croatia
  5. Czechia
  6. Denmark
  7. Estonia
  8. Finland
  9. France
  10. Germany
  11. Greece
  12. Hungary
  13. Iceland
  14. Italy
  15. Latvia
  16. Liechtenstein
  17. Lithuania
  18. Luxembourg
  19. Malta
  20. Norway
  21. Poland
  22. Portugal
  23. Romania (joining 31st March, 2024)
  24. Slovakia
  25. Slovenia
  26. Spain
  27. Sweden
  28. Switzerland
  29. the Netherlands

NOTE: It should be noted that not all EU countries are part of the Schengen area.

Embracing the Schengen Experience

With a Schengen visa, the travel possibilities are as diverse as Europe itself. Here are some examples of how you can leverage this visa for an unforgettable journey:

  • Cultural Immersion: Start with the art and history in Paris, France, before experiencing the Renaissance in Florence, Italy, and concluding with the modernism of Berlin, Germany.
  • Scenic Routes: Enjoy the fjords of Norway, the alpine vistas of Switzerland, and the captivating coastline of the Mediterranean in Greece.
  • Culinary Journey: Savor Belgium’s chocolates, indulge in Spain’s tapas, and feast on traditional Polish cuisine in Krakow.
  • Historical Exploration: Walk in the footsteps of the Romans, Vikings, and the Knights of the medieval era by visiting historical sites spread across the Schengen countries.

Tips for Schengen Travelers

  • Plan Ahead: While the Schengen visa allows for considerable freedom, it’s essential to have a rough itinerary to avoid any complications at border controls.
  • Stay Informed: Regulations and policies can change, so it’s crucial to stay updated on any travel advisories or entry requirements within the Schengen zone.
  • Embrace Flexibility: One of the greatest joys of the Schengen visa is the ability to explore spontaneously. Don’t hesitate to deviate from your plan if something catches your interest.

A Schengen visa opens up a continent’s worth of experiences, sights, and memories. Whether you’re drawn to the bustling cities, tranquil countryside, or the diverse cultures of Europe, the Schengen Area offers a seamless and enriching travel experience.

About Author


GreetingsfromAbroad.com is a travel blog founded by keen traveler, writer and experienced digital nomad, Kojo Enoch. Currently Kojo lives on the beautiful, sunny island of Malta. This website is run by a solid team of expert digital nomads,  avid travelers, photographers and writers from all over the world.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *